Site icon Atlas Lisboa

Portugal Expands Already Enforced Air Travel Restrictions Until Mid April

The Ministry of Internal Administration announced that air travel restrictions will be prolonged until April 15, and that some of the restrictions will also be applied to travel over land, RTP reports.

Anybody arriving into the country from the U.K., Brazil, South Africa — or any country with an infection rate of 500 cases or more per 100,000 inhabitants — will be required to comply with a 14-day isolation period. This includes any residents of these countries who enter Portugal by land, according to the news outlet.

All visitors from Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Slovenia, Estonia, France, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Poland, and Sweden (all countries with infection rates of 500 cases or more per 100,000 inhabitants) will only be able to enter Portugal on essential travel and have to abide by the 14-day self-quarantine rule.

Travelers coming from Germany, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Finland, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, the Netherlands, Romania, and Switzerland will also only be allowed to enter the country for essential travel, but will not have to self-isolate. This is because these countries have infection rates of 150 cases or more, but fewer than 500, per 100,000 inhabitants, RTP reports.

All travelers arriving by plane — except for children under 24 months of age — should present proof of a negative PCR test result that was taken within 72 hours before traveling. Those who arrive in Portugal without a test result will have to take one upon arrival at the airport.

Exit mobile version